Skip to content

Oscars 2012: The Actual Winners

February 27, 2012

WHHHHAAA BOOO BOOO

Meryl “the winner of countless over dramatic and unsubtle performances goes to” Streep. Watching it made me realise that Glenn Close really deserves to win an Oscar one day. Also, let’s hope that Michelle Williams gets one soon – great in Blue Valentine, great in My Week with Marilyn.

Apart from that the awards were pretty much run-of-the-mill Oscar stuff and pretty predictable. Hugo won Best Cinematography which, I’m sorry, was ridiculous. Yay for Midnight in Paris. Obviously Gary Oldman wasn’t going to win but bloody hell first nomination. Of course Man or Muppet was going to win, I mean Real in Rio? seriously?? Christopher Plummer…no surprises, same with Octavia Spencer.

And Best Picture went to the film that absolutely no one would have predicated would win. I doubt most people had even heard of it…something called The Artist. Yeah. No surprises there.

It was pretty decent, Crystal did a good enough job and you had the typical, cringeworthy scripted banter although I liked Emma Stone (how can you not) and Ben Stiller little skit. They really need to stop with the whole tributes for the Best Actor/Actress. Also, the montages explaining how great the movies are…yeah, we get it films are magical where dreams come true. Best moment? When Dean Pelton won an Oscar and struck that daft pose Angelina Jolie made…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 1, 2012 3:08 am

    Didn’t watch it. Kind of don’t feel bad about it. ;) I am interested in seeing The Artist and still have Midnight in Paris sitting on my kitchen counter to watch. Funny clip–is that from Community?

  2. March 9, 2012 2:42 am

    I rarely watch any live TV anymore but strangely I do try and watch the Oscars, even knowing that it will be lame and a bit boring. But I did like seeing Christopher Plummer win and I liked his speech. I think the first time I watched the Oscars all the way through was 2002 and I remember really liking it that time, and maybe it’s a residual expectation that I will enjoy it as much again? Anyway, yeah, that Dean Pelton bit was pretty funny.

    • March 9, 2012 3:12 pm

      I’m the same. You’d think being disappointed time and time again I would never watch it but I always do.

      I think it’s lost some of its allure and razzmatazz, I think they really should get rid of the other award ceremonies or at least wait until the Oscars are over to announce the winners.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

