Skip to content

Library Loot (The Online Edition)

March 5, 2012

I didn’t get any new books from the library as I still have most of the books from last time to read. I did, however, reserve a couple from the online library portal.

  • Empire Falls by Richard Russo – I’ve had this one by tbr list since last year so I thought might as well reserve it. It one the Pulitzer in 2002 and I’m quite excited to read it.
  • The Unconsoled by Kazuo Ishiguro – I wrote a post on this book. I just thought it sounded interesting and got it on a whim. Hope it’s good!
  • Grendel by John Gardner – Another from my tbr list. This is a re-telling of Beowulf through the eyes of Grendel.
  • Night Passage & Trouble in Paradise by Robert B. Parker – I’ve read two of his books and enjoyed them so I got some more.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. March 5, 2012 2:37 am

    I like your mix of books here…from Gardner to Parker. I’ve read a lot of the Spensers but haven’t read any of the Jesse Stones. I remember Grendel, the book, from my days in college, but never got around to reading it.

    • March 6, 2012 12:05 am

      trying to read the Jesse Stone series in order, I started with Night & Day which is the second to last one

  2. March 6, 2012 1:09 am

    I’ve heard great things about Empire Falls. We read an Ishiguro book for Book Club – half loved it and half didn’t – but I adore his movies! ;)

  3. March 6, 2012 1:28 am

    I haven’t read any of these but Grendel sounds particularly intriguing. I love retellings of famous stories from other perspectives. Enjoy your loot!

  4. March 6, 2012 10:30 am

    I love Richard Russo, but haven’t read Empire Falls. Grendel I read just pre-blog, shortly after reading Seamus Heaney’s Beowulf, and I really enjoyed it – very dense and descriptive if I remember rightly.

  5. March 8, 2012 2:16 am

    I read Empire Falls a number of years ago and remember really liking it. I still remember a few scenes clearly from that book. It also was cool that it was set in Maine, in an old mill town on a river, like the Maine towns I grew up near.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

