Skip to content

Read-a-Thon 2009: 4th Update

April 19, 2009

I’m starting to feel my eyes drooping, my eyes filled with static from a dead channel. I usually go to sleep soon, my biological clock is telling me to hurry up and close my eyes.

I’ll try and fight it…:)

Although, honestly, I don’t think I will. I’ll sleep, get up and read until the read-a-thon is finished.

I’ve been enjoying this event, it’s strange because it really isn’t very dissimilar to what, I think, most of us book-lovers do anyway; read for a long stretch of time. It’s a wonderful sense of community, like when you watch a film on television that you’ve watched a million times but you watch it anyway because other people are watching it. It’s like you’re in a cinema filled with invisible people.

It’s also been great because it’s given a chance for me to explore other like-minded blogs, and for my blog to get more publicity. It’s always a lovely feeling when you get comments, I think everyone who blogs is looking for publicity, to be seen and heard…we wouldn’t write posts and release them into the “wild”, so to speak if we didn’t.

Perhaps there are outsiders, who might find all this read-a-thon business is sad, or even, blogging about books is daft but events such as these really give a strong sense of community. An event like this can change the spectre-like figures of the blogosphere and turn them into real living breathing people.

Anyway, enough rambling…

Page Count

1:00 pm

  • The Man Without Qualities by Robert Musil – page 244 (+33)
  • Life; A User’s Manuel by Georges Perec – page 90 (+25)
  • Rendezvous with Rama by Arthur C. Clarke – page 24
  • Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman – page 272 (+133)
  • Blood Music by Greg Bear – page 125 (+64)

Total Pages: 755/2510

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 19, 2009 12:39 am

    When you have to sleep, you have to sleep! Good luck with the reading!

  2. April 19, 2009 12:42 am

    My spine feels really heavy: isn’t that weird?! lol

    One of the other readers called this a nerdfest but in a loving way. 😀 All of my non-reading friends are IMPRESSED that people can read for twenty-four hours!

  3. April 19, 2009 12:47 am

    You are right- it’s not the getting lost in books for a day, it’s that you get to do it with all these other people. Makes for a special time! Hope you are having fun! Great job!

  4. April 19, 2009 3:32 am

    Yeah, there are some people that I don’t tell about my blog. Because they just don’t get it. This is my first time participating in the read-a-thon and I’m so pumped because it is so cool to meet other awesome bloggers.

    Best of luck with your reading!

    • uenohama permalink*
      April 19, 2009 10:37 am

      This is my first time too and my first blog….

Leave a Reply

