Skip to content

Review: Ender’s Game

April 19, 2009

To be honest, I don’t think I can adequately review this novel; it takes a far to high a place in my heart to be even close to being reviewed without bias. I get quite nostalgic about it, anyway, I’ll try my best.

I remember when I first got this book out from the library; it was many, many years ago (okay about 8 years). I got it from a small, compact shall we say, library which had mostly books I had no interest in reading; let alone touching, however, it did have, tucked away beside the book about fishing and the book about butterflies, some curious ones.

It just so happened that one day, after going to the chemist and supermarket with my mother, we stopped off at the library. I went over to the sci-fi section, scanned the shelf, picked up a couple of books and then…bam! I saw it. I picked it up and it said Ender’s Game; intrigued, I read the blurb, read the first few pages and well, loaned it out.

I love this book. I really do, and it’s not my favourite (that would be Lanark: A Life in Four Books by Alasdair Gray) but it is in my Top Ten. I think sometimes you can be oblivious to any flaws a book might have, and I’m sure that Ender’s Game has some flaws, it’s because you enjoy it, love it so much you forgive all its blemishes.

I’m not the biggest fan of Orson Scott Card, in fact, apart from Ender’s Game and Speaker for the Dead I don’t have much time for his other books. I also don’t agree with many of the thing he says, regarding his political and religious views. Of course, his opinions shouldn’t make any difference to his writing…

I think the main reason why Ender’s Game holds a place in my heart, other than being a great read, is that it really cemented my love of reading. When I was younger, I used to be terrible at reading and then one day, like magic, I became the best reader in my class. I couldn’t get enough of reading. I devoured books, just like today, and I think when I got around to Ender’s Game it became clear to be that books are a part of my life.

So…yeah, books! 🙂

I might have fabricated and heightened my experience in finding Ender’s Game in the library. I can’t remember if there were fishing books…I’m not memory man.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

