Skip to content

Library Loot

April 24, 2009

This event is hosted by Eva and Alessandra. Stop by and see what followed others home from the library this week.

My excursion to the library this week was digital. This sounds far cooler than it actually is. I order a lot of books from the library service online, as sometimes my library doesn’t have every single book I want or need so I order online. I can loan out books from any library in the country.

I’ve been waiting for these two books for yonks, and there are still more books to come. Arrrrgh.

Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy – John le Carré

My first introduction to Carré was last year in sunny Italy. I was staying at a lovely family run hotel in Montecatini Terme (and yes, Italy is superb. They had a small bookshelf of all the books people had left; The Constant Gardener was there, so I picked it up.

While relaxing in the heat (supposedly, the heat from Africa was heating Italy up even more…or something), drinking peach flavoured ice tea, I read The Constant Gardener. It was okay, better than the film. It did leave me intrigued and willing to read more of le Carré’s books.

I got The Spy Who Came in from the Cold, which was absolutely riveting and a great antithesis to the overblown dramatics of James Bond. So, now I’ve got Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy, which is the first in a trilogy. It was also made into a very successful BBC programme.

I haven’t read it yet, so I’ll type up the blurb from the book:

George Smiley, who is a troubled man of infinite compassion, is also a single-mindedly ruthless adversary as a spy.

The scene which he enters is a Cold War landscape of moles and lamplighters, scalp-hunters and pavement artists, where men are turned, burned or bought for stock. Smiley’s mission is to catch a Moscow Centre mole burrowed thirty years deep into the Circus itself.

What I loved about The Spy Who Came in from the Cold was that it was a character-driven novel, and when there was action, (hardly any) it’s for a reason. It was also a perfect depiction of the paranoia of the time, whom can you trust etc.

Mr. Vertigo – Paul Auster

I’m a big fan of Paul Auster and I’ve been systemically working my way through all his novels. I have five more In the Country of Last Things, Leviathan and Man in the Dark.

The book is about a boy who learns to levitate. I’ll write a review when I read it.

So, that was my first Library Loot. I should be getting more books soon, so I’ll write about them when I get them.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

