Skip to content

Review: The Magic Toyshop

April 25, 2009

First thing first, I did not enjoy this book. I don’t know whether it was supposed to be aimed at me (a male) or if it was just badly written. Actually, scrap that; it wasn’t badly written, I’ve read books that are horrendously written and this wasn’t one of them.

I understood it, I understood the symbolism and, I think, because of the subject matter I couldn’t relate to the character. I found the story plodding, the characters weren’t interesting and it became a struggle to complete it.

It was a disappointment, I was fully expecting to enjoy it but alas, it failed.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 10, 2009 10:51 pm

    I’m sorry to hear that. I just finished reading the book, and absolutely loved it, for the symbologies and metaphors and imagery.

    I’m not completely sure what the target audience of this book would be, to be honest. I do agree though – it’s difficult to relate to a sixteen year old girl at the best of times. Makes it so much tougher if you’re a guy!

    • August 11, 2009 11:21 pm

      Good review, much better than my two-minute-smidgen-of-a-review although you couldn’t really call it a review.

      I don’t think it was because the protagonist was a girl, although it was, I suppose, a coming-of-age tale and because I’ve never been a girl, nor am I a girl at the moment I’ve never experienced growing-up or going through puberty as a girl, so that would have made it harder to relate to. In the end I just found it awfully dull. It’s surprisingly hard to articulate what I thought about it.

      On another note, the word symbologies bug me, it’s one of those words that, whatever way you look at, doesn’t seem like a real word. Symbology is fine but it’s plural looks ridiculous. Also, symbolism is much better on the tongue. Anyhoo.

Trackbacks

  1. Review: Bluebeard « A Damned Conjuror Starts Lecturing

Leave a Reply

