Skip to content

Library Loot

May 3, 2009

I went on a binge. A crazy, book-frenzy binge…um, yeah so here is my list:

Leviathan – Paul Auster

I’ve nearly read all of Auster’s works.

House of the Spirits – Isabel Allende

I’m not sure if I will read this. At the moment I’m hesitating, and I don’t know why.

The Kindly Ones – Jonathan Little

I’ve been waiting for this to arrive in my library for ages. I had ordered it almost two months ago.

Any Human Heart – William Boyd

This is for my Guardian’s 1000 Novels Challenge.

Riddley Walker – Russell Hoban

Ditto.

Makioka Sisters – Jun’ichiro Tanizaki

This is for the Orbis Terrarum challenge. I’ve been meaning to read it but never got around to it.

Transit of Venus – Shirley Hazzard

1000  Novels Challenge.

Kitchen – Banana Yoshimoto

Supposed to be a good contemporary Japanese novel.

Naoko – Keigo Higashino

I want to read more modern Japanese writers. This one looks good.

Palace Walk – Naguib Mahfouz

Part of The Cairo Trilogy, I wanted to see if this (first part) is any good.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 18, 2009 10:23 pm

    I didn’t see this Library Loot post before; sorry that it slipped under my radar.

    I adored both Kitchen and Palace Walk (very different books, of course!). Oh, and House of Spirits is awesome, as long you enjoy magical realism. The only Tanizaki I’ve read is Naomi: have you read that one? How does it compare to Makioka Sisters?

    • June 18, 2009 10:55 pm

      I never read Palace Walk, picked it up and just got a sudden urge to put it down again. I haven’t even read Kitchen yet, not because I’m a slow reader or I’m um lazy, but because it hasn’t arrived at my library yet. I order a lot of books from the library, they have a website where you can order books from all the libraries in the country. However, I’ve been waiting for ages. In fact, all of those books apart from Naomi, Palace Walk and Leviathan I’m still waiting for.

Leave a Reply

