Skip to content

Musing Mondays

May 4, 2009

Musing Monday is a weekly meme, hosted by Becca of Just One More Page. Pop on over to Just One More Page or leave a link to your Musing in my comments.

Question: How many books (roughly) are in your tbr pile? Is this in increasing number or does it stay stable? Do you ever experience tbr anxiety in the face of this pile.

If you define tbr as the books you’ve set out then about twelve. If you mean books on shelves then around about twenty, give or take. If you mean any book to be read then a lot.

I generally don’t take much notice of tbr piles, I rather like having books in piles around me as if they’re about to swallow me up (you see in my fantasies the books aren’t malevolent, so if they do swallow me up I’ll be whisked to a magical place with gumdrop lanes…)

Occasionally I do feel anxious that I need to finish a book but there’s another I want to read, and then another, and then another and ad infinitum. It’s the terrible plague of reading anxiety that all book-lovers get; so many books to read and so little time.

It never stays stable, I’m always reading either from the pile of books I’ve set out or a book from my shelf, or even a library book. The tbr pile is an abstract notion, it’s “well I’ve selected X amount of books and I’ll get through them by X amount of time” but most of the time this never happens.

There are two tbr piles; the physical one with dozens of books piled haphazardly on top of one another, and the pile that’s in your head. Whenever I browse a bookshop: be it bricks & mortar ones or online, the library, recommendations from friends, family, the internet, I’m constantly adding books in my mental tbr pile.

I’ll never decrease my tbr pile because I’m perpetually adding to it, and I suppose, that’s the way I like it.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 4, 2009 9:59 pm

    I have actual piles…and arranged ‘piles’ on shelves and virtual piles…and they all just make me happy.

    • May 4, 2009 10:43 pm

      Hee hee piles.

      Yeah, I love making lists of books I want to read, books I’m reading etc.

  2. May 6, 2009 4:28 am

    I like your fantasy 🙂

    • May 6, 2009 6:50 am

      Yeah, although I’m not sure what “gumdrop lanes” have to do with reading but I’ve just remembered that’s from The Simpsons.

      I had a daydream once where I imagined I was swimming in a sea of books. Hmmm.

Leave a Reply

