Skip to content

Sunday Salon: 10th May

May 10, 2009

The Sunday Salon

http://dhamel.typepad.com/sundaysalon/

I finished Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy by John le Carré today. It didn’t take me long, it was pretty riveting although it got dull near the end. The book, essentially, was made up of scenes where people talked. It was description of person, description of place, description of persons’ emotions; then two or more people talking in a room or outside walking while talking.

I think in a lesser writer hands this would become unbearable, and, let’s not forget, that in some scenes characters talk about events in the past; the reader gleams what has happened through semi-monologues. The strange thing was it was exciting, you felt you were eavesdropping on this clandestine meetings, I loved the jargon used, all these things helped immerse me into this secret world.

However, towards the end I couldn’t wait until it ended. It annoyed me, and it began to wear out my patience. It’s too long, le Carré’s The Spy Who Came in from the Cold is the perfect length.

I started Riddley Walker by Russell Hoban. I read 36 pages. I think it might take a while to read it because all the words are written sort of phonetically and if a child has written it. I’ll give an example:

We got hevvy poals and leavering it up jus a nuff to get a roap round 1 end of it we had in mynd to shif that girt thing jus a littl with the crane so we cud get it parper slung then winch it out of there. It wer 16 man treadl crane with 2 weals 4 men inside 4 men outside each weal. Userly I wuntve ben on the crane we all ways put our hevvyes on them weals.

When you read line by line, it’s easy enough, however, unlike most novels when you look at the page as a whole it’s harder to pick out words or phrases. You have to work with this book but already it’s bringing up questions. Interesting so far.

Anyway, I was reading it and then I fell asleep on the sofa. I’m like an old man getting my nap.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 11, 2009 5:57 pm

    Thanks for stopping by my blog!

    • May 11, 2009 9:53 pm

      No problem although I just saw that you weren’t writing about Philip Roth’s Ghost Writer. Ooops.

Leave a Reply

