Skip to content

Musing Mondays: Mid-Year Reading

June 29, 2009

Now that we’ve come to the middle of the year, what do you think of your 2009 reading so far? Read anything interesting that you’d like to share? Any outstanding favourites?

It’s been pretty decent so far. Although, at the moment, I seem to be having a bit of a downturn in reading. I’m taking things slightly more slower, perhaps because it’s the summer holidays; the sun is shining (mostly), the heat is prickly and the outside is quite inviting. Of course, reading outside makes a change from lying on my bed or on the sofa or, hell, standing up and walking around (which I actually do sometimes).

There hasn’t been many duds so far, which is always good. I’m always quite careful when choosing what to read, it’s a whole strenuous preparatory exercise. Most of which consists of me going “bloody hell what am I going to read next!!!”. Hmm.

I’m quite strict with my ratings, I don’t award 10/10 to books willy-nilly. In fact, I’ve only awarded two books the prestigious (heh) 10/10 and both of them were non-fiction. Last year Generation Kill and Little Big Man got 10/10. The books this year are Flat Earth News by Nick Davies and The Unfolding of Language by Guy Deutscher.

The best fiction book probably would have to be 2666 by Roberto Bolano or maybe The Spy Who Came in from the Cold.

Of course, not all the books read have been good. Some have been downright shocking. Honourable mentions go to Neuromancer by William Gibson; I gave this 5/10 mostly because it really started the whole cyber-punk genre. The Gap into Conflict by Stephen Donaldson. (You can read my reviews for the aforementioned books Neuromancer Review and The Gap into Conflict Review.)

The worst book I’ve read so far has to be The Uninvited by Geling Yan. It was dreadful.

Anyway, here’s to another six months of reading.

Stats

Total Books Read: 51

Total Pages Read: 14,203

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 29, 2009 7:39 pm

    I love posts like these! The Spy Who Came in From the Cold is wonderful, isn’t it? I’ll have to look into that nonfiction!

    • June 29, 2009 7:56 pm

      It’s the best le Carré book I’ve read, although I’ve only read three. Flat Earth News is a brilliant, sometimes shocking, expose on journalism. It focuses mainly on UK journalism but Nick Davies writes that it’s pretty similar to the situation in America. Unfolding of Language is well worth a read, especially for anyone interested in language (which should be everyone).

  2. June 29, 2009 9:49 pm

    I think you’re the first person I’ve seen who has read 2666 and liked it. (Amazon reviews not included.) I really want to read that.

    Lezlie

    • June 29, 2009 10:05 pm

      Really? It’s been the complete opposite for me, it’s been herald as one of the all time greats of literature. Have you read any of his other books?

  3. June 29, 2009 10:18 pm

    I haven’t, though I have couple I was looking at. Their titles escape me at the moment. Do you have suggestions? The size 2666 is intimidating to begin there.

    Lezlie

    • June 29, 2009 10:55 pm

      I’ve actually only read two of his books; 2666 and The Savage Detectives which is excellent although it can be quite daunting, definitely not one to read quickly. I’ve heard that Last Evenings on Earth is well worth a read, it’s a short story collection so might be a good starting point.

  4. June 29, 2009 10:58 pm

    Thanks! I have looked at The Savage Detectives. I’ve heard really great things abou it. Last Evenings on Earth is one of the others I was thinking of. The other is By Night In Chile. So many to choose from . . .

    Lezlie

    • June 29, 2009 11:19 pm

      I need to get some more of his books although they appear to be quite expensive on Amazon. I’ll probably get them from the library. You should definitely read one of them, very very good writer.

Leave a Reply

