Skip to content

Questions, Questions, Questions…

June 30, 2009

I was reading the blog Violet Crush and saw this meme. I’m quite bored so thought I’ll answer the questions:

1. What author do you own the most books by?

A quick glance at my bookshelves (I have two) tells me that it’s Philip K. Dick.

2. What book do you own the most copies of?
The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy. I have three copies. Why? Well, let me explain. I first read the book in school, I loaned it out and whoops I lost it. In those days it didn’t really seem to matter if you never returned a book.

I then bought it and also the other books in the series. Sometime later, I moved house and surprise surprise the library version turned up. The third copy is from a newspaper, they were giving free copies to promote the film.
3. Did it bother you that both those questions ended with prepositions?

Yes, I’m shocked. I’m shaking with fury. That’s sarcasm.

4. What fictional character are you secretly in love with?

That’s private. No, I don’t really have any. I’m sure when I was younger I had some.

5. What book have you read the most times in your life (excluding picture books read to children)?

Lanark by Alasdair Gray. I’ve read it five times. Plus I’ve read paragraphs and chapters here and there. I don’t re-read books that often.

6. What was your favourite book when you were ten years old?

I was a slow beginner. I was terrible at reading and then something clicked and I became vocarious in my reading and the top reader in my primary school class. Smug look. Ha ha.

In primary we used to have a hour of reading where the teacher read. There was a book, I’ve forgotten the title, where it was about a group of people travelling around in a hot air balloon. They went to many fantastical places and great adventures. Or maybe that was a dream. I did have a recurring dream where I was having adventures in a hot air balloon. I had this dream many many times.

7. What is the worst book you’ve read in the past year?

Last year it was Memories of My Melancholy Whores. This year, so far, it’s been The Univitied.

8. What is the best book you’ve read in the past year?
Loads. The one that stands out is Little Big Man.

9. If you could force everyone you tagged to read one book, what would it be?

I don’t know what that means but I would choose Lanark.

10. Who deserves to win the next Nobel Prize for Literature?

I don’t care.

11. What book would you most like to see made into a movie?

Hyperion. It probably be terrible.

12. What book would you least like to see made into a movie?

Don’t know.

13. What is the most difficult book you’ve ever read?

Um.

14. Roth or Updike?

Haven’t read Updike so Roth.

15. David Sedaris or Dave Eggers?
Haven’t read them.

16. Shakespeare, Milton, or Chaucer?

All three.

17. Austen or Eliot?

Austen is awful. Eliot is boring.

18. Name the last book by a female author that you’ve read.
The Uninvited by Geling Yan.

19. Name the last book by an African or African-American author that you’ve read.

Does Toni Morrison count?

20. How about one from an Asian country or Asian-American?

The Uninvited by Geling Yan and Naoko by Keigo Higashino.

21. Why not name an Israeli/Arab/Turk/Persian writer, if you’re feeling lucky?

Um. My bad.

22. Any other ‘marginalized’ authors you’ve read lately?

No.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 30, 2009 4:28 pm

    I have been meaning to read The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy for a loooong time, I should get to it someday.

    Never read Philip K. Dick, should check him out

    • June 30, 2009 8:30 pm

      Do. Douglas Adams was one of the greatest wits that ever lived.

      If you want a good starting point for PKD try Ubik or Flow My Tears, the Policeman Said. Although, to be honest, you can’t go wrong reading any of them apart from VALIS. Do not VALIS if you haven’t read any of his other books.

Leave a Reply

