Skip to content

The Samuel Johnson Prize for Non-fiction 2009

July 2, 2009

I was television last night and switched over to BBC2 and saw that the Samuel Johnson prize was being aired. Well, it was the judges discussing the shortlist. All the books sounded very interesting: (click picture for info)

  • The winner was Leviathan or, The Whale by Philip Hoare. I occasionally read Ben Goldacre’s columns in The Guardian, good stuff.

    8 Comments leave one →
    1. July 3, 2009 10:06 am

      The Lost City of Z seems to be getting a lot of coverage in the blogging world. I haven’t heard much about the others though. It looks like a great list.

      • July 3, 2009 1:42 pm

        They all look great. I was immediately attracted to The Lost City of Z and Age of Wonder. Leviathan looks intriguing but I had a quick check on Amazon and it’s ¬£30.

    2. July 3, 2009 11:33 am

      I thought you might be interested in this site – a good way of keeping up with prize winners:
      http://www.bookprizeinfo.com.

    3. July 5, 2009 11:16 pm

      I’ve never heard of this prize, but I love nonfic, so thanks for bringing it to my attention! The cover for Leviathan is incredible.

    4. July 7, 2009 6:32 pm

      Just read City of Z and loved it. Love it even more knowing there’s a movie with Brad Pitt coming out soon–but you probably don’t care about that. Back to the book–very entertaining. Haven’t read the others, though.

      • July 7, 2009 8:16 pm

        That’s good to know, I’ll probably see if they have it in my library.

    Leave a Reply

