Skip to content

Library Loot: The post about the books I got from the library

July 8, 2009

It’s been a pretty slow week so far. I have, however, gone to the library (today in fact) and burrowed two books:

This is based on the film Audition directed by Takashi Miike. The film wasn’t that great, although I do wonder if I hadn’t know anything about it would it have been better or worse. Takashi Miike is a reasonable enough director, his most famous film (at least with Western audiences) Ichi the Killer is ridiculously over-the-top, combining the frenzy and whirlwind cartoonish antics of a Bugs Bunny cartoon with a story involving gore and sadomasochism. Visitor Q is a film that will have to staring at the scene with utter disbelief at what you’re watching. However, I’m more a fan of his more subdued and reflective fare. His film The Bird People of China is utterly wonderful, combining the tranquil stillness of say, a Takeshi ‘Beat’ Kitano film with his own comedic slapstick. If you only think Takashi Miike films are just mindless gore then watch The Bird People of China.

If you don’t know what Audition is about then here is the synopsis:

Documentary-maker Aoyama hasn’t dated anyone in the seven years since the death of his beloved wife, Ryoko. Now even his teenage son Shige has suggested he think about remarrying. So when his best friend Yoshikawa comes up with a plan to hold fake film auditions so that Aoyama can choose a new bride, he decides to go along with the idea. Of the thousands who apply, Aoyama only has eyes for Yamasaki Asami, a young, beautiful, delicate and talented ballerina with a turbulent past. But there is more to her than Aoyama, blinded by his infatuation, can see, and by the time he discovers the terrifying truth it may be too late Ryu Murakami delivers his most subtle and disturbing novel yet, confirming him as Japan’s master of the psycho-thriller.

The second book is:

When I saw this book I knew I had to get it. I’m hopping it’s going to be so bad it’s good. The book is by Noire (whoever he is) and I’m guessing 50 Cent just put his name on it to get some more money. Supposedly, it’s an urban erotic appetizer, whatever that is. The synopsis doesn’t make it sound anything to do with eroticism or an appetizer. Perhaps the book is the equivalent of foreplay and no sex. Here’s the synopsis:

The seven Davis brothers made a promise to their mother on her deathbed: they would each make something of their lives. And they vowed they would watch over eighteen-year-old Zabu Davis, their baby brother. Intelligent, driven, and charismatic, Baby Brother had resisted the lure of Brooklyn street life and was headed for Stanford University on a pre-med scholarship. But on the eve of his departure for California, in a split second of blinding violence, his girlfriend is fatally shot and Baby Brother’s life is thrown onto a tragic collision course. Soon, his devoted brothers follow a path of blood justice that will rock the city streets. Baby Brother was their pride and joy. Now, he’s their reason to fight for vengeance.

It doesn’t sound that bad, clichรฉ but the writing might be decent. We shall see. I’m not very confident though seeing as the author’s other book is another URBAN EROTIC TALE called, wait for it….THONG ON FIRE. Is that a medical condition? The synopsis is top notch too:

From the streets to sheets, Thong on Fire spins the torn-from-the-headlines story of Saucy Sarita Robinson-a sassy video vixen whose grimy street capers lift her up to the top of her game, then slam her down. HARD.

Hilarious.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. unfinishedperson permalink
    July 8, 2009 9:59 pm

    So I think this might be my second time visiting here, maybe first time commenting. So from what I’m seeing you like the really light-hearted books, don’t you? ๐Ÿ˜‰ I think I’ve seen Audition at Netflix and thought, “No thank you.” However, I do like dark movies, usually darker than my wife does.

    • July 8, 2009 10:12 pm

      Audition really isn’t that bad, certainly not the sick-fest that people, who usually haven’t seen the film, say it is. It’s not his best film though.

      Comment away

  2. July 9, 2009 3:14 am

    Interesting choices. I’ll be interested in hearing your thoughts on both.

    • July 9, 2009 3:41 am

      I’ve started Audition, nearly finished and enjoying it so far. The 50 Cent book was chosen more as a funny, wow 50 Cent has written a book kind of way and not in any way meant as a reflection of my tastes. That felt like a disclaimer there. Ha ha

  3. July 9, 2009 2:54 pm

    Neither of those appeal to me at all, but I hope you enjoy them! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • July 9, 2009 3:52 pm

      Audition is good. I read a little of Baby Brother and it looks rubbish, but I was expecting that.

  4. July 9, 2009 4:47 pm

    The murakami book looks interesting.
    happy reading

  5. July 10, 2009 4:01 pm

    I had no idea 50 Cent had authored (co-authored?) a novel. Oh my. I hope it at least has some entertainment value. =)

Leave a Reply

