Skip to content

The Sunday Salon: These Are Our Salad Days

July 19, 2009

My brain is running slightly slower today, which is why this sentence is only here to be a first sentence. If you get my drift. I haven’t done much; went out last night but I’m not going to bore you with dull particularities. I had roast chicken for dinner; lovely, succulent chicken with garlic, salt, oil and pepper with potatoes with goose fat drizzled over them. There few pleasures in this world as great as taking a crispy but fluffy potato and stirring it through the juices accumulated from a roasted chicken. You feel like a hedonistic pig but it’s oh so fabulous.

Moving away from edible things and to books. It’s 9:13 at the time of writing this and now it’s 9:14. I’ve been reading Ross Kemp on Gangs which my brother got from the library. If  you don’t know who Ross Kemp is, well he is a English actor who worked on Eastenders and some other programmes. He decided to go around the world to talk and find out about different gangs. There’s been TV series about it and he’s written (I don’t know if he did write it…perhaps a ghost writer did) a number of books on the subject. They are rather good; on paper it sounds like a rather cynical ploy to make us feel better about ourselves by shaking our heads and muttering animals but it’s not. It’s respectful, informative and sometimes shocking and while it’s entertaining it’s not cheap…morally. Plus, Kemp is surprisingly good in it and actually very brave, all the film crew are, in one incident Kemp had to be set on fire to be gained access into a Russian neo-Nazi gang.

Anyway, the book is about a couple of his trips he does, each section is about 50 pages roughly. It isn’t as good as the TV show and a lot of times it seems rushed. I’m nearly finished so I’ll write a review later. So, that’s been my Sunday so far.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 20, 2009 1:30 am

    You made me drool over the potato chicken thing. There is nothing better than scooping up pan juices with bread, potato or whatever else you may have on hand. Sinful. Positively sinful.

  2. July 20, 2009 7:43 pm

    dinner sounds awesome. I think I’ve seen that TV series, I believe I caught it once or twice. Rather…thought provoking as to the gangs out there. I’ll look forward to your review 🙂

Leave a Reply

