Skip to content

Booking Through Thursday

July 24, 2009

My first booking through Thursday:

Which do you prefer? (Quick answers–we’ll do more detail at some later date)

  • Reading something frivolous? Or something serious? It depends. Honestly, I don’t know what you mean by serious or frivolous; one mans serious novel is another mans frivolous story. Or something.
  • Paperbacks? Or hardcovers? Paperbacks.
  • Fiction? Or Nonfiction? On average I read more fiction.
  • Poetry? Or Prose? Prose. Nothing against poetry but come on…it has to be prose.
  • Biographies? Or Autobiographies? I have no preference.
  • History? Or Historical Fiction? History. It’s more interesting.
  • Series? Or Stand-alones? Stand alones.
  • Classics? Or best-sellers? Both.
  • Lurid, fruity prose? Or straight-forward, basic prose? Lurid, fruity prose…no, elegant, poetic and playful prose yes. Also, straight-forward prose is good too.
  • Plots? Or Stream-of-Consciousness? I don’t understand, wouldn’t the inclusion stream of consciousness be part of a plot?
  • Long books? Or Short? On average I read short books.
  • Illustrated? Or Non-illustrated? Non-illustrated.
  • Borrowed? Or Owned? I’m burrowing more books than buying them, so burrowed.
  • New? Or Used? New. I don’t like the smell of old books. Or the feel of them.

I’m now going back to sleep because it’s 7 am and I woke up at 4. I need my beauty sleep, so 10 days of sleep should do it, right. Night all.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. July 24, 2009 12:17 pm

    I find history more interesting as well! Welcome to BTT.

  2. July 24, 2009 12:42 pm

    I’m not good at either/or. I’d have to click All of the Above.

  3. July 24, 2009 3:41 pm

    I like your answers 🙂 My blog is named “Well-Mannered Frivolity” – can you guess what my answer to number 1 was? Here’s my BTT response:

    Booking Through Thursday: Preferences

  4. July 25, 2009 6:08 am

    I hope you were able to get some more sleep in! I enjoyed reading your answers especially about new books. I’ve been seeing that same response a lot lately. As long as I have some dryer sheets and hand sanitizer, I’m okay with old books.

  5. July 26, 2009 1:25 pm

    Shari – thanks. Yeah, I;ve never been able to get into historical fiction.

    debnance – I agree, my preferences might suddenly change so nothings final

    Susan – hi, thanks…I’ll check out your blog soon

    Vasily – yeah, woke up at half 10. I thought people liked the smell of old books or have I been dreaming that? I don’t but I still buy books from charity shops which are usually a bit worn and oldish. I have plastic book covers which helps.

  6. July 28, 2009 3:28 am

    Yup, one man’s serious is another man’s frivolous for sure. A lot of these I could go either way on or like you have no preference. I do like owned books, though (my own) and I always try to buy them used if possible. I’ve actually become kind of a used snob–won’t buy a book until I can find it used. 🙂

    • July 28, 2009 3:36 pm

      I enjoy looking at my books, but I’m becoming more attracted to getting books from the library. I’m usually more cautious when buying, in the library I’m more adventurous.

Leave a Reply

