Skip to content

Musing Mondays

August 3, 2009

It’s Monday. That can mean only one thing…it’s Musing Mondays. *applause*

Today’s MUSING MONDAYS post is a library habits meme…

This week we have a library meme courtesy of MizB:

Library Habits meme:

1) If you don’t frequent your local library, why not? –

I frequent my library all the time


2) If you do visit the library, how often do you go? –

It really depends; I don’t have any set time it’s just when the mood strikes. If I’m in town I’ll pop in although it closes early on a Wednesday, which is just silly.

3) Do you have a favorite section that you always head to first, or do you just randomly peruse the shelves? –

My library has three levels; level one is the ground floor where absolutely nothing happens. Well, you put return books there or ask if they have any books you’ve put on hold. It’s really just an large, empty space with an escalator and a staircase for the more health conscious visitors. The second floor is the newspaper section, computer section, CD & DVD & VHS section and the main desk…also the children’s section. I immediately go upstairs to the third floor, which has the adult fiction: crime, sci-fi, poetry, criticism, health, etc etc. O, and more computers. I’ve just realised I haven’t really answered the question. Well, I start at the beginning and make my way around. The problem with my library is that while it looks massive, the amount of books is surprisingly small.

4) How many books are you allowed to check out at one time? Do you take advantage of this?  –

It’s eight and sometimes. Often it all depends on what I can carry.

5) How long are you allowed to have the books checked out? –

Um, about two-three weeks.


6) How many times are you allowed to renew your check-outs, if at all? –

It can be indefinitely unless someone else wants it. You can easily renew it online so it’s very handy.
7) What do you love best about your particular library? –

Um, they actually have a good range of books but just not enough. Although it’s better than the previous library which was tiny. I mean tiny, like really tiny. I remember it had a lot of Tom Clancy’s Netforce books. Odd.


8) What is one thing you wish your library did differently? –

Get rid of the stupid coffee shop, which is overpriced and has disgusting food. Also, get rid of most of the computers. It’s a library not an internet cafe. Actually, the library should just block all social networking sites like a book-with-a-face on-it.com or this-space-belongs-to-me.com

9) Do you request your books via an online catalogue, or through the librarian at your branch? –

I do it all online. It’s easier, I can just search for what I want. When I’m at home I’m in a better position to think what I want to get. At the library I choose from the books already there.


10) Have you ever chosen a book on impulse (from the online catalogue OR the shelves) and had it turn out to be totally amazing? If so, what book was it, and why did you love it? –

I can’t remember, whoops.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 4, 2009 12:27 pm

    I love the library. Pardon me, but I’m borrowing this meme.

  2. August 10, 2009 5:26 am

    I don’t like there being so many computers either. It takes away room for the books. I don’t spend time in the library cause I can’t stand all the people who are there to just play on the computer.

    • August 11, 2009 11:07 pm

      That’s a shame. It’s a silly idea having computers in libraries although I do get the point seeing as libraries are a centre of information. Of course, people might use the computers in the British Library for research etc but the majority in my library uses it for social networking with the bloke beside them.

Leave a Reply

