Skip to content

Damned Conjuror Goes to Edinburgh (Part Two)

September 6, 2009

Welcome back to the Greatest Story Ever Told, no, not that one, this one right here. Now, before I go onto recounting my fabulous tales of meeting authors, I’ll like to tell you about a theatre experience. I went to see Faust but it was so vastly different from what I’ve seen before, I thought it warrants talking about.

It was a Romanian production that boasted over seventy actors and a vast set, and when I say vast I mean it. The beginning started like any play, a stage, actors etc. However, halfway through the performance, a part of the set opened up and the audience were invited out of their seats to go through the opening to watch an orgy of surreal imagery, such as angels flying, forklifts, bestiality, nudity, fake blood, and lots of fire. It was a pure sensation and bought a new perspective on the Faust tale. It was carnival theatre, theatre on a huge scale.

So, back to the Book Festival and the next author I saw was Alasdair Gray. Now, Gray is one of my favourite authors and he wrote Lanark, my personal favourite book, so it was with some trepidation when I sat down to watch him. I shouldn’t have worried. After a lengthy introduction, the audience watched Gray and whoops forget the other two performed his play Voices in the Dark. An excellent rendition, which was interrupted mid-flow when Gray had a mix-up with the pages. It was a jovial atmosphere which made the performance all the better for it.

The last author I saw was Richard Price. It was an excellent end to the festival and he made my day when asked to read from his book, Lush Life, he retorted by saying why would he want to do that? He said that he had been promoting the book for a year and he was sick and tired of it. The interviewer insisted, for some reason unknown, and eventually Price relented.

Unfortunately, I missed Margaret Atwood because I had to leave Saturday morning, darn. Now, would I go again? hmm, it depends on the authors I suppose.

Lastly, you can’t go to a book festival and not bring home books, so without further a do here are the books I bought:

  1. Bad Science by Ben Goldacre
  2. Leviathan, or The Whale by Philip Hoare
  3. How Language Works: How Babies Babble, Words Change Meaning and Languages Live or Die by David Crystal
  4. Cosa Nostra: A History of the Sicilian Mafia by John Dickie
  5. The Year of the Flood by Margaret Atwood
  6. The Ends of Our Tethers by Alasdair Gray
  7. By Night in Chile by Roberto Bolano
  8. Ladies’ Man by Richard Price
  9. Samaritan by Richard Price
  10. Lost in the Funhouse by John Barth
  11. Hidden Faces by Salavador Dali
  12. A Life Full of Holes by Driss Ben Hamed Chardhadi
  13. Serowe: Village of the Rain Wind by Bessie Head
Leave a Reply

