Skip to content

BBAW 2009: Reading Meme

September 16, 2009
  1. 1. Do you snack while you read? If so, favorite reading snack?

The thought of eating while reading repulses me, how could anyone want to eat while reading…think about all the mess.

  1. 2. Do you tend to mark your books as you read, or does the idea of writing in books horrify you?

I use post-it notes; I use those small ones so I can bookmark a section and then write it in my database of quotations.

  1. 3. How do you keep your place while reading a book? Bookmark? Dog-ears? Laying the book flat open?

None of the above. I can remember where I am without the need for a marker. I can pretty much remember everything I read.

  1. 4. Fiction, Non-fiction, or both?

Both.

  1. 5. Hard copy or audiobooks?

Hard copy, I can’t listen to audiobooks. I retain information through reading it.

  1. 6. Are you a person who tends to read to the end of chapters, or are you able to put a book down at any point?

If the chapter is short then yes, if not then anywhere.

  1. 7. If you come across an unfamiliar word, do you stop to look it up right away?

No, because that would be silly. You’re reading and you have a flow going on, why would you want to upset that? Just remember the word and check later.

  1. 8. What are you currently reading?

The Kindly Ones by Jonathan Littell

  1. 9. What is the last book you bought?

I bought a few books last, check them out at my Edinburgh post

  1. 10. Are you the type of person that only reads one book at a time or canyou read more than one at a time?

I can read four at a time. I don’t care what some people say, I can still understand them perfectly.

  1. 11. Do you have a favorite time of day and/or place to read?

Any time, any place baby. That’s how I roll.

  1. 12. Do you prefer series books or stand alone books?

Stand alone. Usually.

  1. 13. Is there a specific book or author that you find yourself recommending over and over?

Um, no but I would recommend Lanark by Alasdair Gray.

  1. 14. How do you organize your books? (By genre, title, author’s last name, etc.?)

The booklovers nightmare. It’s changed over the years from genre, last name, random. It’s now organised as all non-fiction grouped together, organised by literary crit., sciences, biography, philosophy etc. Then poetry, then plays and then fiction.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 16, 2009 2:59 pm

    I agree about looking up words. If I can’t figure it out from the context, I’ll look it up later. I’m in awe of the people who actually have their books organized. I have hundreds them *everywhere*, and I’m lucky that 95% of the time I just know where the one I’m looking for is.

    Lezlie

  2. September 16, 2009 10:52 pm

    So organized! I’m impressed.

  3. September 16, 2009 11:17 pm

    I was glad to here you are reading “The Kindly Ones”-opinions seem very mixed on it- I hope you will share your opinion with us-

  4. September 17, 2009 1:16 am

    If eat something non-messy then it isn’t a mess is it? I usually read at lunch, so I eat at the same time to maximize my time. 🙂 I don’t look up words either, but then I can’t remember the words I found. I’d probably have a better vocab if I did. Oh well.

  5. September 18, 2009 1:07 am

    Lezlie – looking up words stops the flow; I just wait until I’m finished. I don’t have that many books, I mean I have two bookshelves, but it isn’t hard to organise. Saying that I do tend to see books around the house, in fact I found a box full of books in the attic.

    Lorin – thanks, although I didn’t organise the fiction it’s just randomly put on the shelf. It’s difficult to find the right way to organise your books.

    Mel U – I will when I finish. I am enjoying it, although that isn’t the right word; you can’t “enjoy” a book like this, appreciate it yes but enjoy probably not. It’s extremely dense reading, at times it’s more a history lesson but it does have some poignant moments which occasionally is bogged down by the incessant need for the narrator to write about his bowels.

    Trish – Having a large vocab is overrated.

Leave a Reply

