Skip to content

24 Hour Read-a-Thon October Edition: Reading List

October 17, 2009

I loved participating in the Read-a-Thon so much last time I thought I’ll give it another go. I’m weird like that, y’see. The main differences this time are that a) I’m going to read more and b) stay awake for the full 24 hours, beauty sleep be damned!

I haven’t formulated any real reading list and so I might not stick to it like a deformed sea-urchin. So, the preliminary list is this:

The Kindly Ones by Jonathan Littel. I still haven’t finished this, I’ve put it on hold for the time being (not that it isn’t good but my brain can’t handle a lengthy and demanding book like that while having to squeeze something resembling academic work out of my feeble mind). It probably be the first book I begin with for reasons that are easy to understand.

I’m going to read some comics this time too:

From Hell by Alan Moore & Eddie Campbell

Top 10 vol. 1 and 2 by Alan Moore & Gene Ha

and for some light and brilliant reading I’ll probably re-read Bone for the hundredth time.

I haven’t thought of much apart from those. I’m going to look around and have a nosy at other peoples’ lists.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. October 17, 2009 11:02 pm

    Graphic novels are a great way to pass time during the readathon. Bone is one of my favorites. Happy reading and good luck during the event.

  2. October 18, 2009 11:55 pm

    Yay read-a-thon! Graphic novels are a fantastic choice for the day–enjoy!

    And beauty sleep is for wimps. I’ll be here to bug you for sure. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. October 19, 2009 11:26 am

    I plan to readathon-ize, but I will definitely be doing a Readathon Lite. Hope to see you around the blogosphere.

  4. October 21, 2009 3:49 am

    good luck! I’m so excited!

  5. October 21, 2009 5:29 pm

    Good for you for barreling ahead and doing the whole 24 hours. I love to read, but I hate how no-sleep feels, so I’ll definitely be sleeping some!

  6. October 24, 2009 2:37 pm

    Hi there – good morning, afternoon or evening..???

    My name is Louise and this is my first visit to your blog. I am already looking forward to visit again and check it out more ๐Ÿ™‚

    I live in Denmark and have been up for hours, since I am nine hours ahead of Pacific Time and 5AM Pacific Time means 2PM in Copenhagen, Denmark.

    I wish you much luck with your readathon. I have signed up this year for the first time, although I am not reading but cheerleading.

    Those first hours I am going to orientate myself a bit, check out the blogs participating, hanging out on Twitter and so on. I might sneak in a bit of reading here and there, but my main thing is to cheer so GO! GO! GO!

  7. October 24, 2009 3:29 pm

    Alan Moore sounds familiar. <–is a noob. xD

  8. October 24, 2009 9:13 pm

    Best of luck on your reading!

  9. October 24, 2009 11:18 pm

    How’s it going? Did you decide to read today?

Leave a Reply

