Skip to content

The 2010 Blog Improvement Project: Week One

February 1, 2010

I’ve decided to participate in the Blog Improvement Project. This is 2010, a time of newness, a land of opportunity and it is with this time I wish to partake a challenge. A challenge to improve my Blog!

Enough of all that.

The first task asks as mere mortals to draw-up a list of goals we wish to achieve. I have been thinking about these for a while, I say thinking, more glancing over them in the fragments of my daily thoughts of “where did I leave my sock?” or “ten different pads of ruled paper but not one single pen!”

Without further ado:

  • I recently changed the theme of this blog (yet again) but I’m not going to change that. I want to fix the header because there are a few scraggly bits. That a big job.
  • Edit existing posts into clearly defined categories. I try and keep it organised but sometimes I just leave it uncategorised which is like leaving your childhood teddy in a box labelled unwanted. That’s never happened to me.
  • I want to make my reviews more clearly structured. That is synopsis, review & verdict and more quotes, more information perhaps. I want it so people can read it easily.
  • To make commenting easier. I’m going to ask more questions and pingback to other blog posts perhaps because they have reviewed the same book I have or something. Also, a question now: do you have to fill out a form before commenting on my blog?

I think that might be it. I’m sure I’ll look at other peoples’ posts and “homage” their goals.

I like the blog Nonsuch Book I just like the way where it exists in a small, confined place but still seems uncluttered. Plus it has lovely looking book covers which always helps.

quickly looking at my googlereader Rebecca Reads and Farm Lane Books have good examples of proper categorisation.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 1, 2010 8:50 pm

    i’m partipating, too, and saw your mr. linky.

    good luck and i’ll be looking forward to both of our improvements!

  2. farmlanebooks permalink
    February 1, 2010 10:21 pm

    They sound like great plans! Thank you for highlighting my blog for categorisation , interestingly that is one of the areas I want to work on – I feel I have far too many. I guess I’m just never happy with the my blog.

    Good luck!

    • February 2, 2010 7:50 am

      lol

      I liked the way you put all your reviews under one parent category but used sub-categories like the publication date or if it was a foreign book…

  3. February 2, 2010 11:31 am

    Good luck with the project – I look forward to seeing the changes you make! Your blog is very uncluttered which I appreciate!

  4. taraSG permalink
    February 2, 2010 7:27 pm

    I may have to add the “more structured reviews” task to my list! I never thought about it, but it is definitely something I need to work on.

    Great list! Good luck!

  5. February 2, 2010 8:51 pm

    More structured reviews is a great idea! I might need to borrow that one!

    Good luck with your list 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. 2010 Blog Improvement Project – Week 1 « 25 Hour Books

Leave a Reply

