Skip to content

The Monthly Review: January

February 1, 2010

OK OK I know it’s technically February but, you know, shut up. I did quite well with reading this month, reading 14 which is 2 more than last year.

I read two books yesterday, and completed two more. I haven’t completed Dictionary of the Khazars but my excuse is that you can dip in and out of it. I should hopefully have it finished by this week.

Out of the 14 books I’ve reviewed 7. I will review the rest soon.

Exercises in Style & Amulet

The Theban Plays & The Glamour

Sulphuric Acid & Changing Planes

The Death of Bunny Munro

The best book I read this month would be The Kindly Ones by Jonathan Littell (review coming soon…I hope) and the worst would have to be Vacant Possession by Hilary Mantel.

This month I want to read the following:

History: A Novel by Elsa Morante

To Be a Pilgrim by Joyce Cary

The Separation by Christopher Priest

The Sheltering Sky by Paul Bowles

The Glass Room by Simon Mawer

Has anyone read any of those books? What did you think of them??

2 Comments leave one →
  1. farmlanebooks permalink
    February 1, 2010 11:40 am

    I’m looking forward to your review of The Kindly Ones. I haven’t seen it mentioned in the blogging world yet. I nearly bought a copy a few weeks ago, but it is so long that I wanted to see a trusted opinion before I risked so many hours of my time.

    • February 1, 2010 4:46 pm

      It’s nice to know that someone sees my small reviews as a source of “trusted opinion”. I can tell you now that it is worth your time.

Leave a Reply

