Skip to content

Library Loot

February 10, 2010

It’s been a bit hectic around these parts so haven’t had a chance to write the reviews I wanted to do yet.

Library Loot for this week is:

(click title for more info)

Farewell, My Only One by Antoine Audouard

Nine Nights by Bernardo Carvalho

Happy Moscow by Andrey Platonov

from my old Library Loot I’ve read My Life in CIA by Harry Matthews which was boring. I’m still reading History: A Novel by Elsa Morante which is brilliant so far. I didn’t read Miracle of the Rose because the copy the library had was disgusting, it was practically rotten away and had an unidentifiable black substance on the back. I shall probably buy a copy later on.

I also ordered some books from the library:

Nadja by Andre Breton

Fictions of Bruno Schulz (this includes The Street of Crocodiles & Sanatorium Under the Sign of the Hourglass)

City of Saints and Madmen by Jeff VanderMeer

Swing Voter of Staten Island by Arthur Nersesian

Sea Came in at Midnight by Steve Erickson

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 10, 2010 7:19 pm

    I have a bunch of holds to pick up this week. I’ll feature them on a future Library Loot.

  2. February 10, 2010 8:02 pm

    What an interesting sounding lot of loot. I’ve never heard of any of them. I’ll have to come back and read your reviews.

  3. February 11, 2010 9:55 pm

    I read Nine Nights at the end of last year. It was good, but slightly confusing in places. I felt I was reading through a fog at times, not sure if that was intentional.

  4. February 12, 2010 9:38 am

    I haven’t read any of those! Enjoy your loot.

Leave a Reply

