Skip to content

Top Ten: Favourite Books Read This Year

December 5, 2010

It’s December, it’s the end of the year, everyone is doing it which must mean it’s an END OF A YEAR LIST.

10. Timescape by Gregory Benford

9. The Fifth Child by Doris Lessing

8. Exercises in Style by Raymond Queneau

7. Foundation by Isaac Asimov

6. The Glass Room by Simon Mawer

5. A Canticle for Leibowitz by Walter M. Miller

4. Byzantium Endures by Michael Moorcock

3. History: A Novel by Elsa Morante

2. The Kindly Ones by Jonathan Littell

and my favourite book of 2010 is *drum roll*

1. The Obscene Bird of Night by Jose Donoso

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 5, 2010 7:39 pm

    The Kindly Ones will make it very near the top of my list too šŸ™‚
    I remember you mentioning The Obscene Bird of Night before, but seeing it at the top of your list has persuaded me to read a copy – I’ve added it to my wishlist. Hopefully someone will buy it for me for Christmas šŸ™‚

    I also loved The Fifth Child and The Glass Room, but I hated Foundation – I guess you can’t win them all šŸ˜‰ Great list! Thank you.

  2. December 5, 2010 8:23 pm

    It’s a great book and I do hope Littell releases another novel soon. Is it me or was the The Kindly Ones overlooked in Europe & N. America…certainly not in France but I never saw much discussion about it especially in the news etc..or perhaps I missed it

    I was looking at the books I read this year and looked at Obscene Bird of Night and just remembered what an amazing book that was. It’s definitely a book that deserves you undivided attention and not one for reading at the beach.

    The Glass Room was great, can’t believe I read it in Feb. the year has flew by.

    What didn’t you like about Foundation?

  3. December 5, 2010 9:37 pm

    Foundation was too political for me – there wasn’t really a plot, it just went on and on discussing boring (to me!) possibilities. I did enjoy the first few chapters, but I’m afraid it went downhill sharply after that.

    The Kindly Ones wasn’t very popular in the blogging world. I think most people knew about it, but I guess the length put off a lot of people and the graphic descriptions put off the rest.

    • December 9, 2010 9:36 pm

      Horses for courses, or something like that right…I loved the whole political aspect of it and the idea of psychohistory is fascinating

      perhaps you might like his Robots series – try I, Robot for a good collection of short stories (has no relation to Will Smith’s abysmal Converse advert of a film) or Caves of Steel

      it’s a real shame about Kindly Ones – it totally deserves to be read

      i’m not too sure the length is an important factor, bloggers make a big deal about reading “chunksters” all the time (for some reason reading a long novel is seen as an achievement) perhaps because the book asks so much out of the reader and it goes to such dark places, not even in terms of it being graphic but just the sheer matter-of-factnes of it all

      well anyway a book that should be read

  4. December 9, 2010 11:28 pm

    A top 10 list already? What if you read a book this month that deserves to be on the list? I haven’t heard of a few of the titles on your list so I’m definitely going to look them up. The Glass Room has been sitting on my shelves unread for months now. I guess I should pick it up. šŸ™‚

    • December 10, 2010 1:22 pm

      i thought about that but my reading has slowed right down + i don’t think Sunset Park and The Skating Rink are going to be in the top 10

      oh you really should, it’s a v. good book

Leave a Reply

