Skip to content

Samuel Johnson Prize 2011 Shortlist

June 14, 2011

So the following books have been shortlisted for the 2011 Samuel Johnson Prize

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’m probably most interested in Caravaggio who happens to be one of my favourite artists and I’ve always enjoyed Andrew Graham Dixon’s documentaries. Mao’s Great Famine is the second most interesting one.

The winner is announced 6th July.

What do you think about the shortlist? What stands out for you?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 21, 2011 4:04 pm

    I’ve had mixed luck w Samuel Johnson prize in the past, and the first thing that struck me about those covers is that 80% of them are written by men! I’ve read two of Matt Ridley’s books and enjoyed them in the past, so that’s where I’d start. 🙂

    • June 21, 2011 6:01 pm

      yeah I noticed that, it’s the same for the long list although Barbara Demick won it last year for Nothing to Envy (which you should read btw). Yet only four out of the twelve winners are women which is a shame

Leave a Reply

