Skip to content

Library Loot: This Time It’s Personal

October 19, 2011

 Library Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by Claire from The Captive Reader and Marg from The Adventures of an Intrepid Reader that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library.

 

Drive by James Sallis

I really enjoyed the film Drive staring Ryan Gosling (and his scorpion print jacket), so when I saw this book nestled between “not interesting book #1” & “not interesting book #2” I had to get it. I’ve started it and it is totally different from the film, hell he’s said more in a couple of chapters than in an hour 30 film.

Wildlife by Richard Ford

My library had The Sportswriter, which I wanted to read but I chose this instead because it was shorter in length. It sounds good, here’s hoping.

The Quantum Thief by Hannu Rajaniemi

I’ve wanted to read this for ages. Saw it on the bottom shelf of the SF/Fantasy section and quickly snatched it up. Although, to be honest, I’ve never seen anyone look at the SF shelves.

Desert by J.M.G. Le Clezio

This was a nice accident, wanted to read a Clezio since last year but never got around to it.

The Islanders by Christopher Priest

I was going to buy this but then saw it, underneath a whole pile of books waiting for me like some buried treasure.

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 19, 2011 2:13 pm

    oooh nice loot.. i haven’t actually heard of any of these books (i’m so .. sheltered.. hahahaha 😛

  2. October 19, 2011 6:55 pm

    All new to me but look great. Enjoy!

  3. October 22, 2011 1:03 am

    Sadly, I haven’t read any of these before. I hope you enjoy your books.

Leave a Reply

