Skip to content

READ-A-THON 2011: 2nd Update

October 22, 2011

I’m still here. Still reading. I started up again at 4:00 pm and then finished at 7:00 pm. I read issue 39, 40 and 41 of Lucifer which completes the four issue ark ‘Naglfar’ and issue 41, ‘Sisters of Mercy’ was a coda to the story. I enjoyed it although I felt it slightly whimpered out at the end but it has started the ball running on a major storyline.

I’m still reading The Quantum Thief. It’s going really well, the thing I like about it is that Rajaniemi doesn’t fall into the trap that a lot of hard SF writers get into which is that they preoccupied with ‘showing off’ their world-building skills rather than concentrating on giving the reader a story or good characters. Once you get past the initial spectacle of the book, it’s really, in essence, a good mystery/detective fiction.

“‘I don’t have any more. It was just a physical object, one of a kind.’

‘Oh crap,’ the monster says. ‘Oh man. That’s way too much. I’m really sorry. I didn’t mean to – look, I think I can regurgitate it and we can put it back together again–

‘Really, it’s fine.’

‘You know, it was a reflex, this body just has to conform to all kinds of narrative stereotypes.'” – The Quantum Thief, page 77

Reading Stats:

  • The Quantum Thief by Hannu Rajaniemi – page 134 (+60)
  • Wildlife by Richard Ford – page 0
  • Lucifer by Mike Carey and various artists – read issues 39, 40 & 41
4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 22, 2011 9:39 pm

    Still reading is a GOOD thing! Hope you’re having a wonderful readathon.

    Give me an R
    Give me an E
    Give me an A
    Give me a D

    #cheerios

    (ps–thanks for the comment–I used to be at a different blog, Trish’s Reading Nook, but must have lost touch with you somehow)

    • October 23, 2011 12:34 am

      cheers

      yeah, I’ve been off the map for a bit and must have forgot you had moved blogs. Still had your old site on my reader…thought it was strange there were no new posts lol

  2. October 22, 2011 11:21 pm

    You’re doing wonderful – the important thing is to keep having fun!!

Leave a Reply

